Katherine woman joins seniors council

Dale Wakefield.
Dale Wakefield.

A KATHERINE woman is among eight other seniors selected from across the Territory for the new Minister’s Advisory Council for Senior Territorians.

The council is designed to strengthen links between government and the Northern Territory’s senior community.

Delma Harlan has been selected as the Katherine representative.

Minister for Territory Families Dale Wakefield said the council would be a voice for seniors, providing advice to government on social and economic issues from a senior’s perspective and issues relevant to senior Territorians.

“Seniors contribute to our economic growth and it’s critical for the future of the Northern Territory that we keep our seniors here,” Ms Wakefield said.

“Our government is supporting and respecting local seniors through help with the cost of living, better accommodation options and more opportunities to enjoy our lifestyle.

“The eight selected community members bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Council, with the skills and capacity to provide strategic advice to addressing senior’s issues across the Territory.

“They will also look at ideas to increase participation of older Territorians in community activities and highlight the positive aspects of ageing – because let’s face it, we’re all getting older.

“This appointment of the council also helps deliver on our Government’s promise to have 50:50 representation of women on councils and boards by 2020.”

The Council also has representatives from key seniors groups including National Seniors Australia, Council on the Ageing NT and the Association of Independent Retirees.

The eight community members are Delma Harlan, Morag McGrath (Alice Springs), Lilia Cercarelli (Palmerston), Lindy Coats (Darwin), Gary Manison (Darwin), Geoffry Boynton (Palmerston), Peter May (Darwin), Pirrawayingi Puruntatameri (Tiwi Islands).

Ms Wakefield said the Council will be consulted on improvements to the Pensioner Concession Scheme announced as part of the NT Budget 2017.