Another job for busy council CEO Rob Jennings

Rob Jennings.

Rob Jennings.

Katherine Town Council’s chief executive Rob Jennings has been appointed to the NT Planning Commission.

Mr Jennings will be the Local Government Association representative on the commission.

Mr Jennings has become a busy man after taking the helm at the council in 2015.

He is also a board member of the Nitmiluk National Park Board and the Godinymayin Yijard Rivers Arts and Culture Centre.

Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics Minister Nicole Manison today announced Dr David Ritchie as the new chair of the Northern Territory Planning Commission.

Ms Manison said the Government is determined to restore trust in Government and will review planning in its first term, to provide certainty for the community.

“Planning for the Territory’s future is an important part of growing our population, creating jobs, developing our economy and building strong communities,” she said.

“It is essential we get it right, and it’s vital the broader community is part of the planning process.

“I’m thrilled Dr Ritchie has come on board with the Planning Commission.  He has extensive experience in planning issues in the Territory, gained through 20 years in chief executive roles including Chief Executive of the (former) Lands and Planning Department from 2009 to 2012 and more broadly across Government, the private sector and the not-for-profit sector.

 “As well, Dr Ritchie holds a PhD in cultural anthropology and social history and this knowledge and experience makes him an ideal Chair for the strategic work of the Planning Commission.”

The NTPC is an independent statutory authority, established to undertake strategic land planning across the Territory, to deliver integrated, sustainable and appropriate land use planning for the community.

 “I’m also very pleased to confirm three new members to the NTPC today:

Dorte Ekelund, Adjunct Professor (Planning) at the University of Canberra with extensive planning experience at senior levels in Australian and State Governments

Fran Kilgariff, Alice Springs based with extensive experience across Territory and Local Government

Mr Jennings, Katherine, representative of the Local Government Association of the NT.

Mr Brendan Dowd, the Chief Executive Officer of the City of Darwin, will continue as a memberof the NTPC, along with recurring memberships which include the Chairpersons of the Development Consent Authority (Mr Denis Burke), the Heritage Council (Mr Wayne Kraft) and the NT Environment Protection Authority (Mr Paul Vogel),

“These appointments represent a very high level of experience, knowledge and capability in planning matters and in particular, I sincerely thank Mr Dowd for acting in the role of Chair over the past few months,” Ms Manison said.

The first meeting of the NTPC will take place shortly, and a detailed work plan for the next 12 months will be outlined by the Commission.


Discuss "Rob has another job"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.