Darren Holt wins back-to-back NT speedway kart title

Darren Holt from Katherine took out the NT dirt kart title again. Pictures: Sphynx Photography.
Darren Holt from Katherine took out the NT dirt kart title again. Pictures: Sphynx Photography.

Three senior drivers from the Katherine Dirt Kart Club competed in the NT Speedway Kart Title in Darwin on Saturday.

The titles were hosted by Darwin Speedway Kart Club with the support of Northline Speedway.

Drivers travelled from interstate to compete, including current National and State Title holders.

Family and friends also travelled to the Northline Speedway venue to pit crew and cheer on our local drivers.

Jackson Robertson.

Jackson Robertson.

Darren Holt, who is an experienced and highly skilled competitor, won two of the three classes he competed in with his consistent and thrilling driving.

He won the Outlaw class for the second year in a row. He also won the 125 class while reaching speeds up to 88kmh’s per hour around the dirt track!

He is a well-deserved winner who is humble and always shows true sportsmanship and a passion for the sport.

Jackson Robertson has moved from a junior up into the senior division this year and despite only having raced his modified kart once this season stepped up and held his own against the experienced competitors.

He boldly took on other drivers and at times matched their speed with increasing confidence and skill.

Simon Patterson.

Simon Patterson.

He completed all of the heats however, he had to withdraw 8 laps into the 15 lap feature due to a malfunction.

Simon Patterson is new to the club and dirt kart racing.

He was competing in his first ever Title in his 125 kart.

He showed great skill and speed in his warm up laps prior to the heats and but was left sitting infield after his kart blew the engine only a few laps into his first heat! Terrible luck for him but we know he will be back out on the track and getting amongst it again.

The three drivers who represented the Katherine Dirt Kart Club did so against seasoned competitors who have been racing regularly this year.

Jackson had only driven once this year, Simon about three times having travelled to Darwin to get the much needed track time.

Darren also travelled to Darwin this year as well as interstate last year to compete in other Title and major club events.

Feature race results: 125 Class – 1st - Darren Holt, 2nd - Nick Belfield, 3rd - Tony Brown, 4th - Michael Brown.

Modified Class – 1st - Neville Briton, 2nd - Nick Belfield, 3rd - Steve Driver, 4th - Yazmin Brown.

Outlaw Class –  1st - Darren Holt, 2nd - Neville Briton, 3rd - Tony Brown, 4th - Yazmin Brown.