CLP chief resigns

BYE SHANE: The CLP chief has quit.
BYE SHANE: The CLP chief has quit.

The president of the Northern Territory Country Liberal Party has quit. 

Shane Stone told the party’s management committee he had to resign “due to an upcoming outside appointment which would preclude him from continuing his long service to the party”.

The former Chief Minister and Australian Liberal Party president took up the job after the CLP was destroyed at the polls in 2016.

A CLP NT director Brad Vermeer.said Mr Stone’s contribution to the CLP and the Territory over many years, has “shaped them both for the better”.

“His leadership over what was a difficult time for the party has been invaluable and his selfless and tireless work has meant that the Country Liberal Party, in less than twelve months since a substantial election loss, is a force to be reckoned with in Northern Territory politics once again,” Mr Vermeer said 

“I have greatly valued the opportunity to work with a former Chief Minister with immense experience in Territory politics. I  sincerely thank Mr Stone for his significant service to the party.

“Whilst we are saddened by Mr Stone’s retirement, he leaves a strong party that is focused on fighting for a better deal for Territorians from this inept Gunner Labor Government,” he said/

“The Country Liberal Party wishes Mr Stone all the very best in his upcoming endeavor.”

One of the two CLP vice presidents will be voted in to fill Mr Stone’s role. 

The current Party Vice Presidents are Cr Jamie DeBrenni and Mrs Rhianna Harker.